Hi Friends! On this web page, I am going to show you guys how to delete Facebook account or better still deactivate your Facebook account such that you will be able to recover or resurrect whenever you want. But before I go ahead with either the deleting or deactivating steps, there are few things I want to mention in order to put some persons on the know.
Now, deactivating your Facebook account is not the same thing as deleting your Facebook account. Facebook account deactivation is a bit lighter in that you can re-activate your account anytime you want but deleting your account will permanently remover your profile from Facebook social media.
What Happens When I deactivate My Facebook Account?
Deactivating Facebook account will result to the following;
- You can reactivate whenever you want
- People can’t see your timeline or search for you
- Some info may remain visible (example: messages you sent)
What Happens When I delete My Facebook Account?
- You can’t regain access once it’s deleted
- We delay deletion a few days after it’s requested. A deletion request is cancelled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time
- It may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in backup systems. Your info isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time
- Some things aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may have messages from you after deletion
- Copies of some material (example: log records) may remain in our database but are disassociated from personal identifiers
You have seen what happens when you deactivate or delete your Facebook account. So, before you go ahead with any of the steps, be sure that’s what you want.
How To Deactivate Facebook Account
- Login to your Facebook account that you will want to delete
- Click the arrow pointing downwards at the top-right corner of the screen
- Select “Settings >>> Security section”
- Then, choose the “Deactivate Your Account” option at the bottom of the menu
How To Delete Facebook Account
Before taking the steps here, it’s recommended you download a copy of the data Facebook has on you.
To do this:
- Click the downwards-pointing arrow in the top-right corner of the screen
- Select Download a copy of your Facebook data
To permanently delete your Facebook account:
- Head to Facebook’s Delete Account page
- Select “Delete My Account” option and let Facebook know whether you will want to delete your account with no option of recovery.
NOTE: Once that’s done, you’re ready to delete your account. Bear in mind, however, that your sent messages will continue to exist even when all other traces of your account are gone. Your data may take 90 days to be permanently deleted on the media.
I hope this article was helpful? Meanwhile, you can get in touch with us if there are any issues using the box below. Also feel free to share this post with others using the social buttons below.